Greene County Women's Hall of Fame

Endorsed by the Greene County Commissioners

The Greene County Women's Hall of Fame was organized in March 1981 to annually honor women of Greene County, living or deceased, who have contributed to the county's growth and progress.

A selection committee, based upon the quantity of nominations, determines the number of inductees into the Hall of Fame and number of posthumous awards.

The Hall of Fame inductees and recognized individuals are selected on the basis of their contributions that have provided countywide, state, national or international impact. Achievement for recognition may have been in the arts, humanities, business, industry, agriculture, health, government, politics, sports, education, homemaking, the media, volunteer activities, distinguished personal achievements or any other specified area.

The women, inducted into the Greene County Women's Hall of Fame at a ceremony in September, 2016, are:

Group photo (left to right): Sharon Busch, Beavercreek; Ann Lewis Cooper, Beavercreek; and Sue Rytel, Fairborn.
Single photo is Gerry Shambaugh, Xenia.
Women's Hall of Fame
Women's Hall of Fame

Nominees must be native-born Greene Countians or currently residing in the county (a 10-year residency is required)

Nominations may be made at any time by an individual or organization by completing the Hall of Fame Nomination Form or by following the format of this form to generate a nomination using a computer.

The recognition luncheon is held annually on the last Saturday of September.

Nominations for each annual recognition must be received by June 30 of that year and must be sent to the address listed on the form.

For additional information, please contact Ann Byrd at (937) 429-1805.