Clock Tower

Out of the Clock Tower



Hello and welcome to the Greene County Archives' blog, "Out of the Clock Tower".  Please join us as we share information on archival issues, news, special events, and highlights from our collection.

Before the archives program began in Greene County in 1996, permanent records were stored in every conceivable space, in basements, garages, and closets. Usually they were in boxes of various shapes and sizes, although seldom adequately labeled, but occasionally they were just in loose piles of books and papers. Most notable were the old records stuffed into the clock tower of the County Courthouse, where they shared their home with pigeon droppings.

Now, there is a clean, environmentally controlled, well appointed location for the county archives, where our historical records are housed in standard sized boxes on steel shelves. We have taken note of their journey in the name for our blog.

View All Posts

Oct 18

"Bridges Become Frames for Looking at the World Around Us" - Bruce Jackson

Posted on October 18, 2019 at 9:35 AM by Elise Kelly

With the peak of fall foliage just around the corner, what better way to view the brightly colored maples and oaks then during Ohio’s Covered Bridge Week. Here in Greene County, there are five covered bridges still standing. The two that are located in Xenia Township are the Charleton Mill Road covered bridge and the Stevenson Road covered bridge. The Charleton Mill Road bridge was constructed in 1883 over Massie Creek (See Figs. 1 & 2).

Fig. 1 Charleton Mill Road Bridge JPG)
Fig. 1 Charleton Mill Road covered bridge (Greene County Archives)

Fig. 2 Charleton Mill Bridge Map (JPG)
Fig. 2 Map showcasing the location of the Charleton Mill Road covered bridge (Greene County GIS)

The Stevenson Road bridge was constructed in 1877 also over Massie Creek (See Figs. 3 & 4).

Fig. 3 Stevenson Road Bridge (JPG)
Fig. 3 Stevenson Road covered bridge (Greene County Archives)

Fig. 4 Stevenson Road Bridge Map (JPG)
Fig. 4 Map showcasing the location of Stevenson Road covered bridge (Greene County GIS)

Just southeast of Xenia Township, the Ballard Road covered bridge built in 1883, stands over the North Branch of Caesars Creek in New Jasper Township (See Figs. 5 & 6).

Fig. 5 Ballard Rd. Bridge 3 (JPG)
Fig. 5 Ballard Road covered bridge (Greene County Archives)

Fig. 6 Ballard Road Covered Bridge Map (JPG)
Fig. 6 Map showcasing the location of Ballard Road covered bridge (Greene County GIS)

Located in the southeast corner of Caesars Creek Township near the border of Spring Valley Township, sits the West Engle Mill Road covered bridge. Anderson’s Fork flows below this 1887 bridge (See Figs. 7 & 8).

Fig. 7 Engle Mill Rd. Bridge 3 (JPG)
                     Fig. 7 Engle Mill Road covered bridge (Greene County Archives)

Fig. 8 West Engle Road Bridge Map (JPG)
Fig. 8 Map showcasing the location of West Engle Mill Road covered bridge (Greene County GIS)

The Cemetery Road covered bridge was formerly located over Anderson’s Fork, however, it was relocated in 1979 to Glen Helen in Miami Township. For sightseers, the bridge is just a short walk from the road (County Road 27) (See Fig. 9 & 10).

Fig. 9 Cemetery Rd. 1968 (JPG)
Fig. 9 Cemetery Road covered bridge before it was relocated (Greene County Archives)

Fig. 10 Cemetery Road Covered Bridge in GLen Helen (JPG)
Fig. 10 Cemetery Road covered bridge now located in Glen Helen (Photo courtesy of Chris Light via Wikimedia Commons)

Two additional covered bridges that were formerly located in Greene County now rest in neighboring Montgomery County. The Feedwire Road covered bridge stood northwest of Bellbrook over the Little Sugar Creek (See Fig. 11).

Fig. 11 Feedwire Rd. Bridge (JPG)
      Fig. 11 Feedwire Road covered bridge before it was relocated (Greene County Archives)

Built in 1870, this bridge was transferred in 1948 to what is now named Carillon Park. Visitors have the opportunity to walk along its wooden floor boards and survey the truss and beams.

The Jasper Road covered bridge was located south of Jamestown over Caesars Creek in 1870 (See Fig. 12).

Fig. 12 Jasper Rd. Bridge (JPG)
Fig. 12 Jasper Road covered bridge before it was relocated (Greene County Archives)

The bridge was dismantled in 1965 and the materials were moved near Germantown, Ohio. It was reconstructed in 1966 and windows and overhangs were added. The bridge straddles the Twin Creek and sits on private property (See Fig. 13).

Fig. 13 Jasper_Road_Covered_Bridge_01 (JPG)
Fig. 13 Jasper Road covered now bridge located on private property in Germantown, Ohio (Photo courtesy of Niagara66 via Wikimedia Commons)

I hope some of you get a chance to tour these lovely and peaceful covered bridges that dot our County and our neighboring county. Keep in mind that all of the bridges were constructed using the Howe, Smith, and Warren style trusses. If you would like to see more photos of Greene County's covered bridges, please check out our HistoryPin page.

Until Next Time!

Sources:
Greene County Archives
Greene County GIS
Wikimedia Commons
Shell, James H. Covered Wooden Truss Bridges of Greene County, Ohio: A collection of photos and data of a vanishing era. Greene County Historical Society, 1998.

Comments

You must log in before leaving your comment